“Take My House, Please!” Getting Rid of Encumbered Property in Consumer Cases” Webinar

Register for NACBA’s Webinar:

“Take My House, Please!” Getting Rid of Encumbered Property in Consumer Cases”

NACBA Webinars Web Banner (1)
Surrendering real property in a consumer case does not necessarily end the debtor’s obligations with regard to the property if the mortgage lender does not promptly complete foreclosure. The debtor may face continuing burdens of ownership, including post-petition fees and assessments charged by a homeowner’s, condominium, or cooperative association and compliance with local laws requiring maintenance and upkeep of the property.

The 60 minute discussion will include:

  • Exploration of bankruptcy & non-bankruptcy solutions (continued residency in the property without making mortgage payments);
  • Whether local legislative attempts to address the problem are enforceable; and
  • Whether a debtor in a Chapter 13 case can require a lender to accept title to the property through a surrender or transfer provision in a plan or through a § 363(f) sale with the lender having the right to credit bid.

Join us Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 3 PM Eastern / 2 PM Central / 1 PM Mountain / 12 PM Pacific

Presented by: Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff & Tara Twomey, Esq.

*** Recording & materials available (via email following day) to those who are unable to attend live presentation. Must register by 12/15/15$25 Members / $75 Non MemberREGISTER HERE                                                                                                       

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s