NACBA Awards

NACBA Awards Henry J. Sommer Scholarship to Nate Juster of Atlanta Legal Aid

Attorney Nate Juster

Each year, one bankruptcy attorney who demonstrates outstanding contributions in his or her community is granted a scholarship from National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys (NACBA) to attend its national convention at no cost. This year, NACBA’s coveted Henry J. Sommer Legal Aid Scholarship goes to Nate Juster, attorney, with the Home Defense Program at Atlanta Legal Aid Society, for his dedication to representing low-income homeowners who are at risk of losing their homes, many of whom were victims of predatory lending or abusive servicing.

The Henry J. Sommer Scholarship recognizes exceptional attorneys who show the same dedication of service to their clients that President Emeritus Henry J. Sommer (2005 to 2008 and Board of Directors member 1992 to 2011) gave to NACBA. The 2017 Annual Convention will be held May 4-7, 2017 in Orlando, FL. Along with being awarded convention registration and materials, Juster will take part in celebrating NACBA’s 25th Anniversary in Disney.

NACBA Executive Director Dan LaBert said: “We are pleased to provide this esteemed scholarship to Nate. It gives him the opportunity to gain invaluable resources to enhance his profession and the ability to connect with a vast network of consumer bankruptcy attorneys.”

Nate Juster said: “I am honored to receive a scholarship from NACBA recognizing the importance of legal aid work and the many contributions Henry Sommer made to the practice of bankruptcy law. I look forward to attending NACBA’s Annual Convention, where I hope meet and learn from other consumer bankruptcy practitioners and develop techniques to help struggling homeowners.”

Juster graduated with honors from Emory Law School. While in law school he served as the Director of the Emory Law School Supreme Court Advocacy Program, a student-run clinic providing pro bono legal representation before the United States Supreme Court. Prior to joining the Atlanta Legal Aid Society, he clerked for the Honorable Mary Grace Diehl, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia.



NACBA is seeking award nominations to recognize individuals who have exemplified outstanding contributions to the consumer bankruptcy profession. NACBA frequently recognizes the contributions of its members and key allies who go above and beyond the call of duty in helping NACBA realize its goals.

Below is a description of the awards that will be presented at the Annual Convention, on May 5th, 2017 in Orlando Florida. Once you complete the Awards Nomination Form at, please submit it by the Friday, March 31st, 2017 deadline. 


The Champion of Consumer Rights

In recognition of and appreciation for extraordinary service in protecting American Consumers and, in particular, the recipient’s critical role in preserving the rights of consumer debtors in need of bankruptcy relief.

The Distinguished Service Award

In recognition of and appreciation for extraordinary contributions to the National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys and the recipient’s many years of invaluable service to our organization.

The Hammes-Shulman Award

In recognition of the leadership and commitment demonstrated by Norma Hammes and Ike Shulman, the Hammes-Shulman honor significant legislative and advocacy contributions made by a NACBA member.

The K. Colleen Nunnelly Award

In October 2011, NACBA lost a wonderful colleague and long-term NACBA Member, K. Colleen Nunnelly. Ever a strong supporter of NACBA’s mission, always a positive voice within NACBA and an outstanding State Chair, Colleen will be greatly missed. In recognition of her contributions to NACBA, we have created the K. Colleen Nunnelly Award to honor a NACBA member whose collegiality and support for NACBA’s mission embodies Colleen’s spirit, quiet leadership, enthusiasm, and positive contributions to NACBA.

Thank you to all our NACBA Members for their outstanding dedication and commitment to the bankruptcy profession!

We hope to celebrate 25 years of NACBA with you at the Annual Convention!

Past award recipients can be viewed: